Tag archive for Ahmad Mansour

What we can demand from immigrants | Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

What we can demand from immigrants | Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

In this contribution for Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Ahmad Mansour and co-chair of the German Green party Cem Özdemir claim that the German government is not prepared to tackle radical Islam. Integrating the refugees in Germany is already a gigantic task and it is time to learn from the mistakes that have been made in the past, they urge.

Continue reading →

Islam And Integration, How The Seeds For Terror Take Root | Worldcrunch

Islam And Integration, How The Seeds For Terror Take Root | Worldcrunch

In this guest contribution for Worldcrunch, Ahmad Mansour highlights the connections between recent terror attacks in Germany and what he refers to as an “undemocratic behaviour based on cultural sensitivities”, such as the latest case of an imam denying his son’s teacher a handshake, because she is female.

Continue reading →

We are not your toys | taz

We are not your toys | taz

In this guest contribution in taz, Ahmad Mansour addresses the obstacles to an open debate about Islam and to a constructive exchange with liberal Muslims living in Germany.

Continue reading →

Islam needs to reform | Tagesspiegel

Islam needs to reform | Tagesspiegel

In this guest contribution for Tagesspiegel about the Islamist terror attack on a night club in Orlando on 12th June, Ahmad Mansour writes about the imperative necessity of being allowed to criticise religion. “The tabooing of sexual issues is a problem in all patriarchic societies, also in Muslim ones” says Mansour and pleads for an understanding that Islam requires reform as well as a debate about sexuality, violence, authority, homophobia and anti-Semitism.

Continue reading →

Ahmad Mansour is honoured as ambassador for democracy and tolerance | Bündnis für Demokratie und Toleranz

Ahmad Mansour is honoured as ambassador for democracy and tolerance | Bündnis für Demokratie und Toleranz

During a ceremonial act, Ahmad Mansour was honoured as ambassador for democracy and tolerance by the
Bündnis für Demokratie und Toleranz – Gegen Extremismus und Gewalt (BfDT) for his longtime commitment to fighting extremism.

Continue reading →

Ahmad Mansour: A conversation with his laudator, former German Interior Minister Gerhart Baum | radio bremen

Ahmad Mansour: A conversation with his laudator, former German Interior Minister Gerhart Baum | radio bremen

In this radio interview, hosted by radio bremen, former German Interior Minister Gerhart Baum speaks about the decision to award Ahmad Mansour with the Carl-von-Ossietzky award. Baum stresses the importance of the role Mansour has played over the years as a point of reference for the German Muslim community during times of rising Islamophobia in Germany and the importance of the preventative work that he has been doing for years.

Continue reading →

Former Islamist advocates for democracy | Weser Kurier

Former Islamist advocates for democracy | Weser Kurier

Ahmad Mansour is interviewed by Weser Kurier about his commitment to democracy at the Carl-von-Ossietzky award ceremony. He comments on the hostilities he experienced from within the Muslim community following the publication of his book Generation Allah and why he continues to make an effort to fight for what he believes in, despite animosity and threats. „Only if democracy is steadily fought for, can it be preserved.”

Continue reading →

Markus Lanz | ZDF

Markus Lanz | ZDF

Ahmad Mansour was a guest on German TV show Markus Lanz. Together with fellow guests Dr. Edmund Stoiber (CSU), the former Minister-President of the state of Bavaria and journalists Florian Eder, Ulrich Tilgner and Nicolas Hénin, the panel discussed the 22nd March terrorist attacks in Brussels.

Continue reading →

Radically integrated | Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Radically integrated | Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

This article by Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung reports on an event hosted by member of the House of Representatives of Berlin, Burkard Dregger (CDU), who invited Ahmad Mansour to speak about integration.

Continue reading →

What gender perceptions do Muslim men maintain? | Neue Zürcher Zeitung

What gender perceptions do Muslim men maintain? | Neue Zürcher Zeitung

This article by Neue Zürcher Zeitung reports on the perception that men from patriarchal structures are commonly considered a threat to society and points out some projects in the German capital, Berlin, that are working on this issue. One of the projects presented is “HEROES”, in which Ahmad Mansour works as a counselor.

Continue reading →

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Tag archive für Ahmad Mansour

Was wir von Einwanderern verlangen können | Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Was wir von Einwanderern verlangen können | Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

In diesem Beitrag in der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung, schreiben Ahmad Mansour und der Bundesvorsitzende der Partei Bündnis 90/Die Grünen, Cem Özdemir, dass die deutsche Regierung nicht darauf vorbereitet ist, dem radikalen Islam etwas entgegenzusetzen. Die Integration der Flüchtlinge sei eine gigantische Aufgabe, deshalb sei es wichtig, aus den Fehler der Vergangenheit zu lernen.

Mehr lesen →

Islam und Integration, wie der Terror Wurzeln schlägt | Worldcrunch

Islam und Integration, wie der Terror Wurzeln schlägt | Worldcrunch

In diesem Beitrag für Worldcrunch, weist Ahmad Mansour auf die Verbindung zwischen den jüngsten terroristischen Anschlägen in Deutschland und dem Phänomen hin, das er als „undemokratisches Verhalten auf Grundlage kultureller Sensibilitäten“ bezeichnet. Hiermit ist beispielsweise die aufsehenerregende Handschlagverweigerung eines Imams an einer Berliner Schule gemeint. Der Imam wollte der Lehrerin seines Sohnes die Hand nicht schütteln, weil sie eine Frau ist.

Mehr lesen →

Wir sind nicht eure Kuscheltiere | taz

Wir sind nicht eure Kuscheltiere | taz

In diesem Gastbeitrag in der taz, schreibt Ahmad Mansour über die Hindernisse für eine offene Debatte über den Islam und einen konstruktiven Austausch mit liberalen Muslimen in Deutschland.

Mehr lesen →

Der Islam muss sich reformieren | Tagesspiegel

Der Islam muss sich reformieren | Tagesspiegel

In diesem Gastbeitrag für den Tagesspiegel über den islamistischen Terroranschlag in einem Nachtclub in Orlando vom 12. Juni schreibt Ahmad Mansour über die Notwendigkeit, Religion kritisieren zu dürfen. „Das Tabuisieren sexueller Themen ist in allen patriarchalischen Gesellschaften ein Problem, auch in den muslimischen“ schreibt Mansour und plädiert für die Einsicht, dass der Islam einer Debatte über Sexualität, Gewalt, Erziehung, Autorität, Homophobie und Antisemitismus bedarf.

Mehr lesen →

Auszeichnung zum Botschafter für Demokratie und Toleranz für Ahmad Mansour | Bündnis für Demokratie und Toleranz

Auszeichnung zum Botschafter für Demokratie und Toleranz für Ahmad Mansour | Bündnis für Demokratie und Toleranz

Bei einem Festakt in Berlin am 23. Mai zeichnete das Bündnis für Demokratie und Toleranz – Gegen Extremismus und Gewalt (BfDT) Ahmad Mansour für sein langjähriges zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement als Botschafter für Demokratie und Toleranz 2016 aus.

Mehr lesen →

Ahmad Mansour – Gespräch mit seinem Laudator, dem früheren Bundesinnenminister Gerhart Baum | radio bremen

Ahmad Mansour – Gespräch mit seinem Laudator, dem früheren Bundesinnenminister Gerhart Baum | radio bremen

In diesem Radiointerview von radio bremen spricht der ehemalige Innenminister Gerhart Baum über die Beweggründe der Jury, Ahmad Mansour mit dem diesjährigen Carl-von-Ossietzky-Preis auszuzeichnen. Hierbei hebt Baum Mansours wichtige Rolle als kultureller Vermittler hervor, der in Zeiten zunehmender Islamfeindlichkeit einen wichtigen Bezugspunkt für die muslimische Gemeinschaft in Deutschland darstellt. Außerdem lobt er Mansours kontinuierliches und fortwährendes Engagement in der Präventions- und Integrationsarbeit.

Mehr lesen →

Ex-Islamist setzt sich für Demokratie ein | Weser Kurier

Ex-Islamist setzt sich für Demokratie ein | Weser Kurier

Ahmad Mansour wurde im Rahmen der Carl-von-Ossietzky-Preisverleihung vom Weser Kurier bezüglich seines Einsatzes für Demokratie interviewt. Er berichtet von Anfeindungen innerhalb der muslimischen Community nach der Veröffentlichung seines Buches Generation Allah und weshalb er weiterhin für das kämpfen will, an das er glaubt. „Nur wenn stetig für die Demokratie gekämpft wird, kann sie erhalten werden.“

Mehr lesen →

Markus Lanz | ZDF

Markus Lanz | ZDF

Ahmad Mansour war zu Gast in der Sendung Markus Lanz. Dort diskutierte er gemeinsam mit dem ehemaligen Ministerpräsident Bayerns, Dr. Edmund Stoiber (CSU), sowie den Journalisten Ulrich Tilgner, Florian Eder und Nicolas Hénin die Terroranschläge in Brüssel vom 22. März.

Mehr lesen →

Radikal integriert | Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Radikal integriert | Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Dieser Artikel in der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung berichtet über eine Veranstaltung von Burkard Dregger (CDU), Mitglied des Abgeordnetenhauses Berlin, der Ahmad Mansour einlud um über das Thema Integration zu sprechen.

Mehr lesen →

Welche Rollenbilder pflegen muslimische Männer? | Neue Zürcher Zeitung

Welche Rollenbilder pflegen muslimische Männer? | Neue Zürcher Zeitung

Dieser Beitrag der Neuen Zürcher Zeitung berichtet darüber, dass Männer aus patriarchalischen Strukturen oftmals als Gefahr für die Gesellschaft wahrgenommen werden. Im Beitrag werden einige Projekte aus Berlin vorgestellt, die sich mit diesem Thema befassen. Eins davon ist das Projekt „HEROES“, in dem Ahmad Mansour mitarbeitet.

Mehr lesen →

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3