Tag archive for Islam

We can’t explain terror without religion | Tagesspiegel

We can’t explain terror without religion | Tagesspiegel

EFD Programme Director Ahmad Mansour, in a guest contribution for Tagesspiegel, criticises the German Muslim Associations for diminishing the role of religion in extremism. Mansour argues that we must indeed look at the content of certain understandings of Islam, such as literalism or the tabooing of sexuality, which oftentimes act as catalysts for violence.

Continue reading →

We are not your toys | taz

We are not your toys | taz

In this guest contribution in taz, Ahmad Mansour addresses the obstacles to an open debate about Islam and to a constructive exchange with liberal Muslims living in Germany.

Continue reading →

“We need a German Islam” | Deutsche Welle

“We need a German Islam” | Deutsche Welle

Ahmad Mansour is interviewed by Deutsche Welle about the recent demand raised by the leader of the German Christian Democratic Union party, Volker Kauder, on government control over local mosques. Instead of a general surveillance system, we need a European Islam that universally supports human rights, says Mansour. This is not the responsibility of the German politicians, argues Mansour, it must come from within the Muslim community.

Continue reading →

Former Islamist advocates for democracy | Weser Kurier

Former Islamist advocates for democracy | Weser Kurier

Ahmad Mansour is interviewed by Weser Kurier about his commitment to democracy at the Carl-von-Ossietzky award ceremony. He comments on the hostilities he experienced from within the Muslim community following the publication of his book Generation Allah and why he continues to make an effort to fight for what he believes in, despite animosity and threats. „Only if democracy is steadily fought for, can it be preserved.”

Continue reading →

Preventing radicalisation: Silent vigils alone won’t help | Kurier

Preventing radicalisation: Silent vigils alone won’t help | Kurier

Ahmad Mansour is interviewed for an article in Austrian Kurier to discuss the necessity for Islamic associations to do more than issue press releases and conduct silent vigils for the victims after attacks. He argues that as long as they’re not making an effort to take action concerning an inner-Islamic debate, they are part of the problem, rather than the solution.

Continue reading →

AZ-panel discussion: Does Islam belong to Germany? | Abendzeitung München

AZ-panel discussion: Does Islam belong to Germany? | Abendzeitung München

Abendzeitung München reports on a panel discussion in which EFD Ahmad Mansour discussed various aspects of Islamic belief with regards to German society. The other guests were author Necla Kelek, imam Benjamin Idriz and talk show host Michel Friedman.

Continue reading →

Islamists are racists! | EMMA

Islamists are racists! | EMMA

In this interview with EMMA Ahmad Mansour talks about the segregation of the sexes in certain understandings of Islam and why it is racist to label Islamism as a peripheral matter while recognising right-wing extremism as a problem within mainstream society.

Continue reading →

Many points addressed, but very few questions answered | Facetten magazine Neukölln

Many points addressed, but very few questions answered | Facetten magazine Neukölln

Facetten magazine reports on a panel discussion with Ahmad Mansour which took place at a church in Berlin’s Neukölln district under the title “Islam — between youth culture, religion and politics.” Among the guest speakers were Islamism expert Claudia Dantschke, local Imam Ender Cetin and Member of the Bundestag Erol Özkaraca (SPD).

Continue reading →

I want to see a reformation of Islam | Basler Zeitung, Switzerland

I want to see a reformation of Islam | Basler Zeitung, Switzerland

Ahmad Mansour is interviewed in Switzerland’s Basler Zeitung where he calls for urgent reform in Islam.

Continue reading →

Tag archive für Islam

Wir können den Terror nicht ohne die Religion erklären | Tagesspiegel

Wir können den Terror nicht ohne die Religion erklären | Tagesspiegel

In diesem Gastbeitrag für den Tagesspiegel kritisiert Ahmad Mansour die deutschen muslimischen Verbände für ihr Herunterspielen der Rolle der Religion im islamistischen Extremismus. Wir müssen uns die religiösen Inhalte bestimmter Islamverständnisse ganz genau ansehen argumentiert Mansour, denn Buchstabenglaube oder die Tabuisierung von Sexualität haben durchaus etwas mit gewaltbereitem Islamismus zu tun.

Mehr lesen →

Wir sind nicht eure Kuscheltiere | taz

Wir sind nicht eure Kuscheltiere | taz

In diesem Gastbeitrag in der taz, schreibt Ahmad Mansour über die Hindernisse für eine offene Debatte über den Islam und einen konstruktiven Austausch mit liberalen Muslimen in Deutschland.

Mehr lesen →

„Wir brauchen einen deutschen Islam“ | Deutsche Welle

„Wir brauchen einen deutschen Islam“ | Deutsche Welle

Im Interview mit der Deutschen Welle spricht Ahmad Mansour über die Forderung des Vorsitzenden der CDU/CSU Bundestagsfraktion Volker Kauder, nach staatlicher Kontrolle über deutsche Moscheen. Statt flächendeckender Kontrollen bedarf es eines europäischen Islams, der die Allgemeingültigkeit der Menschenrechte akzeptiert, sagt Mansour. Dies liege nicht in der Verantwortung der Politik, ein solcher Impuls müsse aus der muslimischen Gemeinschaft selbst kommen.

Mehr lesen →

Ex-Islamist setzt sich für Demokratie ein | Weser Kurier

Ex-Islamist setzt sich für Demokratie ein | Weser Kurier

Ahmad Mansour wurde im Rahmen der Carl-von-Ossietzky-Preisverleihung vom Weser Kurier bezüglich seines Einsatzes für Demokratie interviewt. Er berichtet von Anfeindungen innerhalb der muslimischen Community nach der Veröffentlichung seines Buches Generation Allah und weshalb er weiterhin für das kämpfen will, an das er glaubt. „Nur wenn stetig für die Demokratie gekämpft wird, kann sie erhalten werden.“

Mehr lesen →

Radikalisierung verhindern: „Mahnwachen reichen nicht“ | Kurier

Radikalisierung verhindern: „Mahnwachen reichen nicht“ | Kurier

In diesem Interview mit dem Kurier spricht Ahmad Mansour über die Verantwortung der islamischen Verbände, mehr zu tun als nach Terrorangriffen Pressemitteilungen herauszugeben und Mahnwachen für die Opfer abzuhalten.

Mehr lesen →

AZ-Podiumsdiskussion: Gehört der Islam zu Deutschland? | Abendzeitung München

AZ-Podiumsdiskussion: Gehört der Islam zu Deutschland? | Abendzeitung München

Die Abendzeitung München berichtet über eine Podiumsdiskussion, bei der Ahmad Mansour gemeinsam mit der Autorin Necla Kelek, dem Imam Benjamin Idriz und TV-Moderator Michel Friedman über diverse Aspekte des islamischen Glaubens in wechselseitigem Bezug zur deutschen Gesellschaft diskutiert hat.

Mehr lesen →

Islamisten sind Rassisten! | EMMA

Islamisten sind Rassisten! | EMMA

In diesem Interview mit der Zeitschrift EMMA spricht Ahmad Mansour über problematische Geschlechterrollen in manchen Islamverständnissen und weshalb es rassistisch ist, Islamismus als Randerscheinung abzutun, während Rechtsextremismus als Problematik innerhalb der Mitte der Gesellschaft aufgefasst wird.

Mehr lesen →

Viele Punkte angesprochen, aber längst nicht alle Fragen beantwortet | FACETTEN-MAGAZIN NEUKÖLLN

Viele Punkte angesprochen, aber längst nicht alle Fragen beantwortet | FACETTEN-MAGAZIN NEUKÖLLN

Facetten-Magazin Neukölln berichtet über die Diskussionsrunde “Islam – zwischen Jugendkultur, Religion und Politik”, die am 19. Juni an der Genezareth-Kirche statt fand.

Mehr lesen →

Ich will die Reformation des Islam | Basler Zeitung

Ich will die Reformation des Islam | Basler Zeitung

Ahmad Mansour plädiert fuer eine Reform des Islam.

Mehr lesen →